Hard Hearts

I agree with Mark Driscoll who says, “soft words make hard people but hard words make soft people”  It compliments another truism I heard, “I don’t want you to adore me because I tell you what you want to hear, I love you enough to tell you the truth even though you may hate me for it”.  Every day I have encounters with hard hearted people who have rejected the truth in exchange for a lie.  A man on the train, having read a great ‘intelligence test’ I gave him, told me that, “it’s too religious for me, I have my beliefs”. Oh how I would love the opportunity to tell that man he does not have his beliefs, but he believes what he has been told.  He has been taught that we are able to believe whatever we choose, that all beliefs are relative and it’s wrong to impose your beliefs on anyone.  Really? Do you believe that? Is that true? Do you think I should believe that?  If you want to discover the cause for a crime look for a motive.  Our education system has adopted a lie and the cultural mandate is broadcasting that lie.  If you want to see the motive for those lies travel with me through the Welsh Capital City Cardiff each day and I’ll show you.  I want to be friends, I really wouldn’t mind if you respected my wisdom and character but the fate of your soul is more important to me than your friendship.

2 comments
  1. Chris said:

    The man on the train is on to something here. it is naive in the extreme to think that the world ills can be laid at the door of selective truth (or if you like lies). Religion are past masters of peddling the misfortune of others to further their own self-interest. No Brand of religion for me can plead no special case, as each and everyone will want to do; it is in the definition. We are plagued by many other brands using the same technique, all feeding off the fact that Nihilism is so unfulfilling and the dangerous assumption that their “can’t be any harm in it” – Oh contrare.

    The dangers of creating a belief system is clear in so many areas if you are looking for it. I particularly like to see all the middl- class children of the Unification all trotting off to mass weddings with strangers in Korea. Their only defence, seemingly, is that we can understand because we aren’t Moonies – doesn’t that sound vaguely familiar? You can’t understand what it’s like to be able to talk to the dead, because your don’t trust the medium.

    We all tell white lies each and every day for the sake of others feelings – if you are a man to tell your wife her bum doest indeed look big in those jeans; you are a braver man than I!

    Like white lies, we, each as every one of us, can’t be a good driver. And we all do distort the truth on a day to day basis, also to make life bearable. With all this widely know and pretty well accepted, I find it deeply ironic that religion has the cheek to brand itself on the truth message.

  2. We are pretty much on the same page Chris, I agree with everything you’ve written except the lying thing. I have told lies, which does make me a liar, however, having repented of my lying ways I take care these days to avoid telling them. As for my wife’s bum, whatever its size it represents my standard of beauty because she is my standard of beauty so I can answer any question on that subject candidly.

    I do agree with you of the dangers of mankind’s religions. They are the cause of mayhem, and suffering, soon they will will wiped out and good riddance. However, the big idea is that I do not want to impose to people on trains a religion, but propose a person, that being Jesus Christ. He’s the giver of life, the Alpha and the Omega, the Creator of all things and he stands in judgement on every person who ever has or ever will walk this earth. He is just, his judgement is final, absolute and his punishment terrifying.

    We hang over the pit of hell, where the worm never dies and people beg for all eternity for a drop of water on their tongue. Our lives have been spared for one more day by his grace that we might come to repentance and put our faith and trust in him. It is a terrible thing to fall into the hands of the living God. Jonathan Edwards, in his sermon, Sinners in the Hands of an Angry God put it so well when he said:

    …”When you look forward, you shall see a long forever, a boundless duration before you, which will swallow up your thoughts and amaze your soul, and you will absolutely despair of ever having any deliverance, any end, any mitigation, any rest at all; you will know certainly that you must wear out long ages, millions and millions of ages, in wrestling and conflicting with this almighty merciless vengeance; and then when you have so done, when so many ages have actually been spent by you in this manner, you will know that all is but a point to what remains. So that our punishment will indeed be infinite….:for who knows the power of God’s Anger?”

    Thank you for your contribution I love it when I see your thoughts coming into transit with mine!

Leave a Reply

