Tough People

The Kenyans from the North East are closely linked through tribal and clan affiliations to the Somalis. They speak the same language, share the same religion and have a similar cultural worldview.  We recruit from the families of this region.  Given literacy levels many of the people I work alongside would struggle to get work elsewhere because they might not fulfill a particular educational ‘standard’.  How much weight do you put on a person’s ability, talents and character in light of their educational achievments?

I just want to share with you that I would rather have an experienced man or woman of the land, who knows how to care for livestock, understands concepts of loyalty, purpose and manhood than some of people I meet in my native country.  The men and women in the photo are conducting a drill display in the heat of the day.  Do you see the dust? this is desert and the going is hard.  These are tough people and they are a joy to work with.  As herdsmen they understand being held to account for the safety of another’s wellbeing and property.

Home comforts weaken my mental ability to resist the lies proclaimed by a material world that says buying comfort and beauty will bring me happiness; I am not preparing for the hardships that are to come.  I delay loving my neighbour to another day for I work on the false presumption that they, my neighbours, will be around for another day.

I trust my time here is strengthening me to pursue my role and purpose and encourage and help those I love to do the same.  I am enjoying the work of preparing for the seasons to come.

Leave a Reply

