Surrender?

I remember as a child mum would navigate and dad would drive. When there was any doubt about the direction we should take my father would press on regardless. I recall the tensions this produced.  I noticed only the other day when I suspected that I was taking the wrong route the temptation to check around the next corner and the difficulty turning back. CS Lewis said that if you are on the wrong path it’s likely best to stop, turn around and go back to start again. I think I have underestimated how difficult that is for us. It requires my overcoming my pride, admitting defeat and seeking humility. Who is going to say my worldview, the path I have taken, the beliefs I have adopted are wrong and I am willing to reject it all?  This is the point, it needs a miracle. You can sympathise with another’s views, you can be attracted to some of their ideas, and even adopt a few for yourself, but complete surrender? Does that sound just too much?

Leave a Reply

