My Canon

Which books would you recommend future generations read? Do you have a canon of literature that has contributed to forming your world view? You do, I just wonder what it is. Perhaps Bella and Okay, or Nuts and Mens’ Health of maybe Homer and Dostoievski.

My neighbour each day is a Polish gentleman called Jan. His canon is:

  • Steinbeck – Grapes of Wrath
  • Humans’ Fate – Maxim Gorki
  • Lord of the Rings – JRR Tolkien
  • The Witcher – A. Sapkowski
  • Illuminatous Trilogy – R A Shea
  • String of Light – Poetry by R Herbert

I guess we can add to this a canon of movies. Mine would start with Sixth Sense and that haunting and profound line from the boy, “I see dead people”. There is so much information in that line. I daren’t unpack it for fear of spoiling the plot for those who haven’t seen it. However, I also see dead people, sons and daughters of wrath, who see the futility of life and their burden is great. I asked a friend yesterday, “what do you live for?” He couldn’t answer.

Leave a Reply

